Google has announced that the company plans to delete accounts that have been inactive for two years, along with related data in Google Workspace. That means the new policy will affect accounts and data in Gmail, Docs, Drive, Meet, and Calendar, as well as YouTube and Google Photos.
This decision is part of the tech giant's efforts to strengthen the security of its huge user base. Under the previous policy, Google could only delete data stored in accounts that haven't been active for at least two years.
To keep your account active, you can use it in any Google service at least once every two years. For example, you can simply use Google search, watch a video on YouTube, download an app on the Google Play Store, or check your email.
The company will begin removing inactive accounts gradually. Although Google's updated policy has already gone into effect, the actual deletion of accounts is scheduled to begin this December. Accounts that have been created and never used will be deleted first.
Also, before deleting accounts, the company will send notifications to the user's primary and recovery email addresses over the months leading up to deletion. The changes will only apply to personal accounts.